The Senate Transportation Committee voted 6-2 Tuesday to advance the bill. It would set the fines for a violation at $50 for a first offense, $100 for a second and $200 for a third and subsequent offense, plus possible license suspension of up to 90 days for three or more offenses within three years. It makes cellphone use a primary violation, which means police can stop someone just for that. It would also override the handful of existing local bans, including in Idaho Falls and Pocatello.
Idaho banned texting while driving in 2012, but that ban only covers texting specifically and is little enforced. A bill to ban talking on a handheld phone whi